DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION AUTHORITY
1675 S. State Street, Suite E
Dover, DE 19901
302-674-7768 Phone
302-674-7769 Fax
Demhral®@verizon.net

July 30, 2013
Communities Registered with DEMHRA
Re: SB33 - Rent Justification Bill

To Whom It May Concern:

Senate Bill 33, the Rent Justification Bill, has passed and was signed into law by Governor Markell on June 30,
2013. This new law, which will go into effect in November, requires community owners to notify each home
owner and the Manufactured Home Relocation Authority (“Authority”) at least 90 days in advance of any rent
increase for leases expiring on or after November 30, 2013. Existing Home Owners’ Associations must also
be notified. If the proposed increase exceeds the Consumer Price Index-Urban (CPI-U) average for the prior
36 months in the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City region, the Authority is required to schedule a meeting
between the community owner and the home owners or HOA. If that meeting fails to produce an agreement
on increases above the CPI-U and either party petitions the Authority, an arbitrator shall be appointed to
conduct a hearing and issue a finding of fact and recommendation. That finding may be appealed to the
Delaware Superior Court. There is a $500 fee, payable by both parties, for the initiation of arbitration. There
are significant penalties for failure to abide by the notice and meeting requirements of this law.

The Authority is diligently working on implementing procedures and will notify everyone once the procedures
and guidelines have been promulgated.

We will publish the relevant CPI-U on our website with assistance from the Delaware State Housing Authority.

Sincerely,

M Crone /\70/‘9(

Mitch Crane, Esquire
Chair

Cc: Authority Board
File
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