
EXHIBIT A 

REGULATIONS USED FOR THE ADMINISTRATION 

OF THE DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION 

TRUST FUND PURSUANT TO 25 Del. C. §7011 THRU §7015 
 

The Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Authority (“Authority”) is authorized to establish 

rules and regulations under the provisions of 25 Del. C. Section 7011, et. seq. (the "Act"). The 

emergency regulations set forth below establish policies and procedures relating to the 

administration by the Authority of the Rent Increase Dispute Resolution procedures set forth in 

25 Del. C Section 7043. Because of the need to have policies and procedures in place when the 

Authority begins receiving rent increase notices and petitions to arbitrate, the Authority is 

adopting these emergency regulations without prior notice or public hearing pursuant to 29 Del. 

C. Section 10119. 

 

REASON FOR EMERGENCY ORDER 

 

An Act to Amend Title 25, Chapter 70 of the Delaware Code relating to Manufactured Homes 

and Manufactured Communities signed into law on June 30, 2013 established procedures that a 

manufactured home community owner must follow in order to raise a manufactured home 

owner’s lot rent. Community owners must provide at least 90 days notice to each affected home 

owner, any Home Owners Association, and the Authority prior to any increase in rent. If the 

proposed increase exceeds the CPI-U (as defined in the Act) the Authority is charged with the 

responsibility of administrating and overseeing the Rent Increase Dispute Resolution process set 

forth in the Act, including scheduling a meeting between the affected parties to allow them the 

opportunity to resolve any dispute regarding the proposed rent increase and designating a 

qualified arbitrator to conduct arbitration proceedings if one or more of the parties files a petition 

to arbitrate. The Rent Justification Dispute Resolution Procedures, by statute, apply to all 

manufactured home community leases expiring on or after November 30, 2013. Accordingly, the 

Authority anticipates receiving rent increase notices that may trigger the dispute resolution 

procedures set forth in the Act within the next thirty (30) days. Accordingly, due to time 

restraints, it is necessary to establish these emergency regulations for a period of up to 120 days 

(subject to renewal as provided in 29 Del. C. Section 10119. The Authority will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration, or revision of 

the emergency regulations set forth herein. Copies of any such petitions shall be mailed and or 

delivered to the Authority at the Authority’s address set forth herein. 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE ORDER 

 

This Emergency Order shall take effect at 12:01 a.m. September 10, 2013 and shall remain in 

effect for 120 days, unless extended as authorized by 29 Del. C. Section 10119 and until final 

regulations may be adopted. 

 

ORDER 

It is hereby ordered this 15
th

 day of August, 2013, that the above referenced Regulation is 

adopted pursuant to 25 Del. C. Section 7011, 7043, and 29 Del. C. Section 10119. 

 



Regulation 4-Rent Increase Dispute Resolution Procedures 

(Authorization: Section 7011) 

1.0 Introduction: Role of Authority Regarding Rent Increase Disputes 

  

The Authority’s role in the administration of rent increase disputes is limited to implementing 

and overseeing the process by which rent increase disputes are resolved and to the extent 

applicable, funding direct arbitration costs in excess of the arbitration fees paid by the 

participants in arbitration proceedings under 25 Del. C. Section 7043. In fulfilling that role, the 

Authority shall at all times remain neutral and shall not provide legal advice to any party relating 

to any rent increase dispute. 

 

2. Definitions 

 

For the purposes of these regulations, the following words and phrases have the meaning 

ascribed to them in this Section unless the context of the regulation clearly indicates otherwise, 

or unless the meaning set forth below is inconsistent with the Act or the manifest intention of the 

Act. 

 

“Act” means the Delaware Manufactured Home Owners and Community Owners Act set forth in 

25 Del. C. Chapter 70. 

 

“Affected home owner” means a leaseholder of a manufactured home community whose rent is 

proposed to be increased by the community owner of the community within which the 

leaseholder’s manufactured home is located. 

 

“Authority” means the Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Authority. 

 

“Community owner” means the owner of a manufactured home community, as defined in the 

Act. 

 

“CPI-U” means the average annual increase of the Consumer Price Index For All Urban 

Customers in the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City area for the most recently available 

preceding thirty-six (36) month period at the time the notice of a rent increase is mailed to the 

leaseholders. 

 

“Designated representative” means an individual authorized to act on behalf of any party, 

provided said authorization is in writing and signed by the party on whose behalf the individual 

is authorized to act. 

 

“Direct arbitration costs” means the following out of pocket costs paid in connection with an 

arbitration hearing held pursuant to the provisions of 25 Del. C. Section 7043(c): (a) fees payable 

to the arbitrator; (b) the reasonable cost of any meeting rooms or facilities used for the arbitration 

hearing; (c) the cost of the court reporter for attendance at the arbitration hearing; (d) the 

reasonable out of pocket expenses paid by the arbitrator in connection with the scheduling and 



holding of the arbitration hearing; and (e) any other costs approved in advance by the Authority 

and determined by the Authority to constitute a “direct arbitration cost”. Direct arbitration costs 

shall not include the cost of preparing a verbatim transcript of the hearing unless the arbitrator 

determines that a verbatim transcript is necessary in order for the arbitrator to render a decision. 

 

“HOA” means a home owners association registered with the Authority pursuant to 25 Del. Code 

Section 7026(b). 

 

“Leaseholder” means a person who is a party to a lease subject to the provisions of 25 Del. C. 

Section 7040 through 7055. 

 

“Notice to the Authority” or words to that effect shall mean the delivery of notice to the 

following address: Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Authority, 1675 S. State Street, 

Suite E, Dover, DE 19901. 

 

“Party” shall include a community owner, an HOA, and any leaseholder affected by a proposed 

rent increase. 

   

3.0 Notification of Rent Increase Dispute Resolution Provisions 

 

Each year, the Authority provides community owners with notice of the right of first offer 

provisions set forth in 25 Del. C. Section 7026. Simultaneously with the sending of that notice, 

the Authority shall also provide each manufactured home community owner with a copy of the 

Rent Increase Dispute Resolution provisions set forth in 25 Del. C. Section 7040 through 7055 

and a copy of any applicable regulations adopted by the Authority. 

 

4.  Rent Increase Notice Procedures 

 

A community owner is required to give written notice to each affected home owner, to the Home 

Owners Association, if one exists, and to the Authority, at least 90 days prior to any increase in 

lot rent. When more than one tenant is affected by the rent increase, in lieu of providing the HOA 

or the Authority with copies of each letter sent to each affected tenant, the community owner 

may provide the HOA and/or the Authority with a letter certifying that written notice has been 

sent to each affected home owner together with a copy of the form of notice provided, which 

form must contain the information required hereunder. The notice must identify all affected 

home owners by lot number, name, group, or phase. In any such notice, in addition to the 

information required to be provided under 25 Del. C. Section 7043(a), the community owner 

shall (with respect to each affected home owner) state whether or not the proposed rent increase 

exceeds the CPI-U and provide the following information: 

 a. The current monthly lot rent; 

 b. The proposed monthly lot rent; 

 c. The CPI-U; 

 d. The effective date of the rent increase; 

 e. The community owner’s contact information, which shall include the name and 

mailing address of a representative of the community owner authorized to respond to questions 



relating to the proposed rent increase and schedule any necessary meetings and/or arbitration 

proceedings required under the Act; and 

 f. If the proposed rent increase exceeds the CPI-U, a  date, time and place on which 

the community owner is available to meet with the affected home owners, Home Owners 

Association, or their representatives, which dates must be within thirty (30) days of the date the 

notice is mailed out.  

 

5. Scheduling of Meetings When Proposed Rent Increase Exceeds CPI-U 

 

When  a proposed rent increase exceeds the CPI-U, the Authority shall schedule a meeting 

between the parties at the time, date, and place set forth in the community owner’s initial notice 

unless the Authority determines, based on input from the parties, that said time, date, or place 

should be changed, in which case the Authority, in its sole discretion, shall schedule the meeting 

at a time and place to be held within thirty (30) days from the mailing of the notice of the rent 

increase. Unless otherwise agreed to by all of the parties, the meeting shall take place in the 

county in which the manufactured home community is located.  Notice of the time, date and 

place of the meeting shall be provided to the community owner and the HOA. If no HOA exists, 

notice of the time, date, and place of the meeting shall be provided to the affected leaseholders, 

or their designated representative, by the community owner. 

 

6. Meeting Procedures 

 

(a) At any meeting held pursuant to 25 Del. C. Section 7043(b), the community’s HOA, if 

any, shall be the designated representative of the leaseholders. In all other cases, where the 

number of affected leaseholders exceed five (5), the leaseholders shall designate in writing at 

least one representative to act on behalf of the affected leaseholders. In all cases the community 

owner shall designate a representative to act on behalf of the community owner. At each 

meeting, a “sign-in” sheet shall be available and any person attending the meeting shall be 

required to sign the sign-in sheet confirming said person’s attendance at the meeting. The 

community owner shall maintain a copy of the sign-in sheet for each meeting and provide the 

Authority with a copy of the sign-in sheet at the end of each meeting. 

 

(b) At the meeting, the community owner shall, in good faith, disclose all of the material 

factors resulting in the decision to increase the rent, including the financial and other pertinent 

documents and information supporting the reasons for the rent increase. 

 

(c) If the parties are unable to resolve any dispute during the initial meeting, the parties may 

agree to extend or continue the meeting to a mutually agreeable time and place. 

  

(d) If the parties are able to resolve all disputes relating to the proposed rent increase, the 

community owner shall so inform the Authority in writing. Any resolution of the rent dispute 

shall be documented by a writing signed by all of the parties and/or their duly authorized 

representatives. 

 

(e) If all of the affected parties are unable to resolve the dispute at the final meeting, or are 

unable to agree on extending or continuing the meeting, any party who has not agreed to a 



resolution of the issues may, within thirty (30) days from the conclusion of the last meeting, file 

a petition, together with the $250.00 arbitration fee, requesting the Authority to appoint a 

qualified arbitrator to conduct non-binding arbitration proceedings pursuant to 25 Del. C. Section 

7043(c). In order to be considered timely, both the petition and the arbitration fee must be filed 

and paid to the Authority within the aforesaid thirty (30) day period. 

 

(f) If none of the parties pay the $250.00 arbitration fee and petition the Authority to appoint 

a qualified arbitrator within the aforesaid thirty (30) day period, the community owner shall be 

authorized to implement the proposed rent increase as set forth in the initial notice, or if 

applicable, the rent otherwise agreed to by the community owner and affected leaseholders.  

 

(g) Any party is entitled to be represented by legal counsel at any meeting provided that said 

legal counsel is authorized to practice law in the state of Delaware. 

 

7. Arbitration Procedures 

 

(a) Upon receipt of a petition to appoint a qualified arbitrator pursuant to 25 Del. C Section 

7043(c) and the initial $250.00 arbitration fee from the party filing the petition, the Authority 

shall prepare a caption setting forth the names of the parties and shall select an arbitrator to serve 

as the arbitrator and to conduct the non-binding arbitration proceeding. Each arbitration petition 

shall be assigned a docket number by the Authority. Thereafter, any paper filed with the 

Authority or appointed arbitrator shall include on the first page the caption and docket number 

assigned to the case. The initial petition shall include the name, mail and email addresses, 

telephone and fax numbers of the person filing the petition and the name, address, telephone and 

fax numbers of the person representing the person filing the petition. The initial $250.00 

arbitration fee shall be paid by the party filing the petition at the time the petition is filed. An 

original and five (5) copies of the petition shall be provided to the Authority. If the petition is 

filed by the community owner, a copy of the petition shall be mailed to each affected home 

owner, and if applicable, to the Home Owners Association (or their respective designated 

representative) on the same day that the petition is filed. If the petition is filed by an affected 

home owner, or if applicable, the Home Owners Association, a copy of the petition shall be 

mailed to the community owner (or the community owner’s designated representative) on the 

same day the petition is filed. Any document required to be mailed shall be mailed by United 

States mail, first class, with postage prepaid. 

 

(b) The Authority shall endeavor to create a list of members of the Delaware Bar who are 

both qualified and willing to act as arbitrators. The Authority will post a list of such arbitrators 

on the Authority’s web site. 

 

(c) Any arbitrator appointed by the Authority shall be a member of the Delaware Bar who 

has provided the Authority with satisfactory evidence of his or her training in alternative dispute 

resolution. 

 

(d) If all of the parties have agreed in writing to the appointment of a specific Delaware 

attorney to act as arbitrator, the Authority shall appoint the agreed upon attorney as arbitrator. 

 



(e) Upon receipt of written notice from the Authority of his or her appointment, the 

appointed arbitrator shall determine whether or not there is any conflict of interest or other 

matter that would otherwise affect his or her ability to render an impartial decision, in which case 

the appointed arbitrator shall decline the appointment and the Authority shall appoint another 

arbitrator. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if all of the parties agree in writing to waive any 

conflict of interest and the arbitrator is willing to accept the appointment, the appointed arbitrator 

may accept the appointment. Upon appointment of an arbitrator, the parties shall provide the 

arbitrator with a list of witnesses who are expected to testify as quickly as possible so that the 

arbitrator may run a conflict of interest check on all names supplied by the parties. 

 

 (f) Where a community owner has proposed rent increases in excess of the CPI-U that would 

affect leaseholders at different time periods, with the consent of all the parties, the Arbitrator is 

authorized to consolidate the cases for purposes of the arbitration hearing. Under such 

circumstances, only one payment of $250.00 each shall be required from the community owner 

and leaseholders. 

 

(g) Simultaneously with the filing of a petition to arbitrate, the party filing the petition shall 

pay to the Authority the $250.00 arbitration fee set forth in 25 Del. C. Section 7043(c). The other 

party or parties shall pay their $250.00 arbitration fee within fifteen (15) calendar days after the 

filing of the petition. Where multiple leaseholders are affected by the proposed rent increase, 

only one payment of $250.00 shall be required on behalf of all such leaseholders. All such fees 

collected by the Authority shall be deposited into the Authority’s general operating account and 

shall not be considered a part of the Trust Fund administered by the Authority pursuant to 25 

Del. C. Section 7012. If any party or parties fail to timely pay the required $250.00 arbitration 

fee, the arbitrator is authorized to enter judgment against the party or parties failing to pay the 

arbitration fee.  

 

(h)  Unless agreed to in writing by all of the parties, all arbitration hearings must be held 

within sixty (60) days from the date of the filing of the petition to arbitrate. Where multiple 

petitions relating to the same matter have been filed, the date of the filing of the first petition 

shall govern. 

 

(i) As quickly as practicable after an arbitrator is selected, the arbitrator shall contact the 

parties (or their representatives and by teleconferences, whenever possible) to schedule the 

hearing at a mutually convenient time and place. Hearings may be held in the evenings or on 

weekends. Once an arbitrator has been appointed, no ex parte communications with the arbitrator 

are permitted. Prior to the hearing, the arbitrator shall notify the Authority in writing of the time, 

date, and place of the hearing. 

 

(j) The arbitrator is authorized to schedule an informal preliminary conference with the 

parties (in person or by telephone) as the arbitrator deems appropriate in order to narrow the 

issues and minimize the expense of the arbitration process. The arbitrator is authorized to require 

the parties to exchange or provide to the other parties documents relevant to the rent increase at 

issue, including documents related to the standards set forth in 25 Del. C. Section 7042.  

 

 (k) At any arbitration hearing: 



 (1)  The Delaware Uniform Rules of Evidence shall be used as a guide by the 

arbitrator for admissibility of evidence submitted at the arbitration hearing; 

 (2) All testimony will be under oath or affirmation administered by the arbitrator, 

unless waived by all parties; 

 (3) Testimony shall be transcribed and shall be considered a written record; 

 (4) Each witness shall be subject to reasonable cross examination by the opposing 

party; and 

 (5) The Arbitrator is authorized to limit the number of witnesses to avoid duplication, 

and where multiple leaseholders are affected by the proposed rate increase, require the affected 

leaseholders to designate a representative to act on and testify on behalf of all affected 

leaseholders. 

 

 (l) The parties are encouraged to stipulate to undisputed facts and to the admissibility of 

evidence in order to narrow the issues and minimize the expense of the arbitration process. 

 

(m) Subject to the terms and conditions of any confidentiality designation pursuant to section 

(q) below, any exhibit that a party intends to rely upon at the hearing must be provided to the 

arbitrator and opposing parties at least five (5) business days prior to the hearing, except for good 

cause shown.  

 

(n) At the hearing, the community owner shall open and close the presentation of evidence. 

The burden of proof shall be on the community owner. 

 

(o) If a party fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the arbitrator may enter an order ruling 

against the party who failed to appear. 

 

(p) All parties to hearings, their counsel, and witnesses shall conduct themselves in a proper 

manner. Disruptive demonstrations of any kind at hearings shall not be permitted. Any disregard 

by parties, attorneys or other persons of the rulings of the arbitrator on matters of order or 

procedure may be noted on the record. The arbitrator may, in his or her discretion, recess or 

continue any hearing when the conduct of witnesses or other persons unduly disrupts or 

interferes with the proper conduct of the hearing. 

 

(q) Any party may request that the arbitrator accord confidential treatment to some or all of 

the information contained in a document. If the claim of confidentiality is challenged by any 

party, then the party claiming confidential treatment must demonstrate to the arbitrator that the 

designated information is confidential as recognized by state law. Notwithstanding any claim of 

confidentiality, any party to the proceeding shall be allowed to inspect a copy of the confidential 

document upon the signing of a confidentiality agreement in a form approved by the arbitrator. 

 

(r) While a court reporter shall be present at all arbitration hearings, unless specifically 

requested by the arbitrator, a paper or electronic transcript of the hearing shall not be required. In 

the absence of a specific request by the arbitrator, any party may, at said parties sole cost and 

expense, order a paper or electronic transcript of the hearing. 

 



(s) Arbitration hearings conducted pursuant to 25 Del. C. Section 7043 are deemed private 

proceedings. Unless otherwise authorized by the arbitrator for good cause shown, attendance at 

any hearing shall be limited to the following: 

 (1) the arbitrator; 

 (2) the court reporter; 

 (3) the parties and their respective legal counsel; 

 (4) witnesses who are not parties, while testifying; and 

 (5) a representative of the Authority. 

 

 (t) Settlements are to be encouraged. If the case settles before a hearing or before the 

arbitrator issues a decision, the arbitrator, after being informed of any settlement, shall arrange a 

teleconference with all parties (or their authorized representatives) to confirm the settlement, 

unless the parties have done so in a writing signed by all of the parties (or their authorized 

representatives). Upon confirmation of any settlement, the arbitrator shall notify the Authority 

that a settlement has been agreed to by the parties. 

 

 (u) The decision of the arbitrator shall be based solely on the evidence presented at the 

hearing and based on the standards set forth in 25 Del. C. Section 7042. The arbitrator shall 

render his or her decision within fifteen (15) days of the conclusion of the arbitration hearing. 

Decisions by the arbitrator shall be in writing, shall clearly set forth the date of the issuance of 

the decision, and shall inform the parties of the right to appeal the decision to the Superior Court 

by filing, within thirty (30) days of the date of the issuance of the arbitrator’s decision, a notice 

of appeal with the office of the Prothonotary of the county within which the affected 

manufactured home community is located. A copy of the decision shall be provided to the 

Authority. 

 

8. Appeals 

 

(a) As provided for in 25 Del. C. Section 7044, in any arbitration proceeding, the community 

owner, home owners association, or any affected home owner may appeal the decision of the 

arbitrator within thirty (30) days of the issuance of the arbitrator’s decision. Any such appeal 

shall be to the Superior Court in the county of the affected community. If a community is located 

in more than one county, the appeal may be filed in the Superior Court of either county. 

 

(b) Appeals to the Superior Court by law shall be on the record without a trial de novo. 

 

(c) Promptly after the filing of any appeal, the party appealing from the arbitrator’s decision 

shall, at the appealing party’s expense, order a copy of the transcript of the arbitration hearing. 

 

(d) Appeals to the Superior Court shall be prosecuted in accordance with Rule 72 of the 

Delaware Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. 

 

 

 

 

 



9. Computing Time 

 

In computing any time period under these rules, the first day of the designated period of time 

shall commence on the next day after the event requiring the computation of the time period. The 

last day of the time period shall be included. 

 

 

   

 


